Reed College

Entity Type
Founding Date

Reed College is a coeducational, nonsectarian college of the liberal arts and sciences. Classes typically resemble conferences rather than lectures, which is made possible by a low student-to-faculty ratio. All freshmen year students take a compulsory humanities course, designed to give students a grounding in the Classics. The college offers 40 majors, of which 15 are interdisciplinary. There is also a de-emphasis on grades at Reed with a more narrative style of assessment.

Academics are divided into five divisions within the college:

  • Division of Arts;
  • Division of History and Social Sciences;
  • Division of Literature and Languages;
  • Division of Mathematics and Natural Sciences; and
  • Division of Philosophy, Religion, Psychology, and Linguistics.